Historic Preservation

HISTORIC PRESERVATION

Charles C. Alger Residence


BUILT: 1851-1852

ADDRESS: 59 Allen Street, Hudson, New York

In 1851, Charles C. Alger (1809-1874), one of the founders of the Hudson Iron Company, purchased a parcel of land at the southwest
corner of Allen and Second Streets. He built on the lot, situated on a hill sloping down to Cross Street, a picturesque Gothic Revival brick residence with multiple gables, bargeboards, and pinnacles. In 1867, a local newspaper described Alger’s handsome residence as “a correct specimen of Gothic architecture.”

Read More

Built by the prominent architect Isaac G. Perry in 1898, the Galvan formerly the Hudson Armory, is an impressive three-story masonry on the periphery of the Hudson Historic District that once housed York State Army National Guard. Owned by Galvan Partners, the has been the site of numerous community resources designed in to community needs: the Hudson Area Library, now with an inviting in which to welcome residents; Perfect Ten, a non-profit dedicated support 4th through 9th grade girls in their academic achievement new senior center operated by the city, a much-needed facility for Hudson's aging population.